Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Radcliffe Camera

Back in college again this morning, and since I went in by bus and wasn't writing a last minute lesson plan, because I was observing, I went for a little wander round town before going to college.

Here's one of those typically "Oxfordy" things, that you always get on postcards and so on - the Radcliffe Camera, which is one of the reading rooms of the Bodleian Library (aka The Bod, or Bodley). I've walked past in zillions of times and seen it in countless episodes of Inspector Morse and Lewis, but I think this is the first time I've ever taken a photograph of it!

College was fine - and it was interesting to watch a different group. I'm teaching them on Friday, so tomorrow I'll be doing quite a lot of lesson preparation, as they're a more advanced group than the last lot I taught. Furthermore, as we're getting further through the course, we're expected to produce better plans, handouts and so on but with less guidance!

After college I went *whispers* "clothes shopping" */whispers*.

I whispered that bit because I don't usually hold with going "clothes shopping". I'm not desperately bothered about clothes, but sometimes needs must, so I headed into Primark, where I got some tops, a couple of shirts, and a sleeveless cardigan! The whole exercise took a very short time - I can browse bookshops or CD shops for hours, but clothes... nah!

Then I came home and turned on the TV. Joy of joys, the Elbow concert from Manchester Cathedral a few days ago was on the red button! How I love digital telly, how I love being able to see all this magical red button stuff AT LAST, and how I love watching Guy Garvey sing!

That was the rest of the afternoon sorted!

Now I await the Wonderspouse's return. He's out a bit late meeting with a poetry person about a poetry thing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.