Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Laura Explorer!

Well, the first day she came home, the little hamstress went charging round, checking out her new dwellings. Since then, she's spent a lot of time asleep (probably catching up, since I expect proper daytime hamster sleep was in short supply when she was living in the shop), but recently she's started to get much more active. She was up and about this morning when I got up, and was definitely keen to play!

So, for about an hour, she hurtled round inside my jumper (climbing up the left sleeve, then round the back and out the bottom - the right arm is out of bounds to rodents or felines until my tattoo is healed), tried to dig through my trousers to get to my leg, and generally had a fine old hamster time of it all! She's an endearing little thing, although I keep wondering what happened to her tail, until I remember hamsters don't really have them!!!

After a while, when she showed no sign of getting tired, I figured I might as well clean out her cage while she was up and about, so I popped her into her little travel carrier and gave her cage a thorough sorting out. I then put her in the bedroom, where it's quieter during the day, and she sorted out her bedding and went to sleep - a late "night" for her today!

While I was in cage cleaning mode I did the rat cage a good clean. The boys are so much easier to handle than Laura is, and they like to sit in their travel box and watch what's going on. Then I got the pleasure of watching them clamber all round their clean abode, with its alterations (I try to move things every time I clean the cage, to keep it interesting for them). They're now happily snuggled up together.

So now I guess I should sort out the human habitat a bit. The washing machine is washing things, and I'll do a bit of hoovering around my study before I move Laura's cage back in here.

Then it'll be time to go to my desk and do admin, CELTA work, and start on my new project - my BA degree in modern languages!!! Today, being the 1st November, is the theoretical start date for my Welsh course, so I'd better get to it! I'll also do a bit of viola practice and start thinking about the Electric Viola Project - I'm due to perform on both at the start of December, and the Telemann Concerto (on acoustic) is scheduled to have another outing in January!

This time last year, I started doing a bit of writing for NaNoWriMo (a novel writing thing). This year I'm way too busy with other projects!

Busy, but happy!

Sorry the commenting is STILL rather patchy. Trying to juggle rather a lot of balls at the moment. Wonder whether to start leaving smiley faces to show I've looked at blips? Might do!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.