The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Ripples

A lone goose paddles upstream on the River Bela in early morning light.

The advantage of the clocks going back is that there is light in the morning to allow a few photographs on the way to work. I had to be early this morning to take the big red Volvo for its third visit to Fred's garage in the last week. The disadvantage of the clocks going back is that there is no daylight after work, it was dark as I walked back through Kendal to pick up the car. And the work is still not finished, it will have to go back again on Monday.

This morning as I walked along the river, someone stopped and told me about seeing three otters in the river on Sunday - he saw them not once, but four times during the day. There was no sign this morning. I've never seen an otter in Kendal, though we know they are there from their spraints. And when the K Shoes Village was being rebuilt, a holt was found in a culvert. Otters are doing well throughout Cumbria, now back on all river catchments. It's only a matter of time before I get the otter blip - I hope.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.