Brand New Information...

I came across some brand new (to me) information. The practice of constructing stick bombs.

I have literally never clapped eyes on this practice what so ever which strikes me as a bit odd as it seems like the sort of thing I would normally know about. Anyway, I went about rectifying the gap in my experience.

From online tutorials, it would appear that tongue depressors are the best material for creating these stick bombs and I found out last night that full Starbucks coffee stirrer sticks don't hold enough tension. Throughout today I worked out that if you cut the Starbucks coffee stirrer to about a third of it's length, you not only get a very good stick for constructing the bombs, but you also get two sticks per stirrer.

So with Bethany on countdown, Ewan on detonation and me on camera duty, we managed to pull off a near perfect filming and picture of our second, but first successful attempt**.

** The first bomb of similar size was perfectly constructed and went off only Ewan followed instructions too literally and set it off on the test run of Bethany trying out the countdown.

Want to see it in motion? I uploaded the video here.

Want to see how they work when you put a lot more effort in than I had time to? Check out this video.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.