Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Recovery Items

See yesterday's blip for the start of this story!

Even as I woke, it was obvious I was exceedingly weakened by the events of yesterday. The poor Wonderspouse had to walk to the bus stop (a distance of over 2 miles, on very badly lit road, with sporadic pavements) in torrential rain, since I was too ill to get out of bed and drive.

I sipped Lucozade slowly throughout the day, keeping just enough strength to do a few essential bits and pieces. I did make the effort to clean the bathroom up a bit, and took all the towels and bathmats away for the hottest wash that the machine would do.

That was about it though. I felt weak, and achy, and certainly not up to going to college or teaching about gerunds. There's now going to have to be some special arrangement made for me to make up the teaching time, or I won't be able to pass the course.

Typical. I'm so rarely ill like this, yet it happens in the middle of one of the busiest times I've had for ages. Yesterday's sandwich is the prime suspect as the cause, although it could have been almost anything that I picked up while out and about. Something pretty hairy in any case, since my stomach is one of my strongest bits (my mind is hopeless, and takes a huge amount of controlling by both drugs and my brain to keep it in check, my lungs are a bit rubbish, my reproductive system is a non-functioning waste of space, and a few of my joints are distinctly dodgy, but I can usually rely on my eating bits to work well)!!!

Most of the day was spent on the sofa, watching previously videoed music programmes (including an excellent one about Rostropovich, which has inspired me to learn the Dvorak Cello Concerto on my viola *prepares for cellist friends to throw things* and a performance of Mahler 1), reading How It Works (one of the best magazines ever IMO), and dozing lightly.

The Wonderspouse walked home, bringing more Lucozade with him, and it was, again, a quiet evening. I managed to eat a little mashed potato.

Lucozade, of course, is what we all drink when we're trying to recover from illness. I remember having it as a child, in the days when it came in glass bottles with orange cellophane wrapped round them. The bottle has changed, and the circumstances have changed, but it's still Lucozade that's the drink of choice. In those days my parents bought it for me and I sat on the sofa at home with our old cat Smokey, watching the telly. These days the Wonderspouse buys it and I sit on the sofa at home with our current cat Tiggy, and the quality of the telly is better, although I now need bifocals to see it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.