Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Royal College

Another incredibly busy day! We did have the pleasure of a lie in to start it though, since the Wonderspouse had taken annual leave. While he made pancakes I did a few more words for the fledgling novel, then we headed off to Oxford where I was meeting Scharwenka and the Wonderspouse was getting the bus to London.

A call from Scharwenka, who's having terrible internet trouble, meant that I called at PC world en route to pick up a new router for him, before heading to his house for lunch.

I departed earlier than usual and drove to London, pausing only at Homebase to buy little plant pots for spiny friends and a small watering can for the same friends (so I don't have to use my bedtime water glass & create puddles all over the place). I entered the congestion charge zone at 6.04, then parked at Imperial College before meeting the Wonderspouse (and his really cool friend Cody, who I love so much) at the back of the Royal Albert Hall. We sat on the steps and ate sushi and I took this picture of the Royal College of Music.

The College always feels a bit "other place"ish to me, since I studied the viola at the Academy, however, it has the same wonderful feel as, on this warm autumn evening, many windows were open and sounds of practising spilled out onto the street. I always loved walking the corridors of the Academy on my way to viola lessons, sounds of music all around!

Then we went into the Royal Albert Hall to see the Nouvelle Vague, whose music I find myself entirely unable to describe. I quite like it and am perfectly happy to spend an evening listening to it, the Wonderspouse absolutely LOVES it. He really really enjoyed the gig, and it was a great evening out.

As we sat waiting for the band to arrive I nestled my head onto the Wonderspouse's shoulder & sniffed his jumper - my nose immediately picked up the scent of Macdonalds. It turned out he'd had a cheeseburger at 2pm. So, it turned out, that we stopped for Macdonalds at Beaconsfield services!

Sometimes these things have to be done - it was DELICIOUS!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.