Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Stepping Plate

After such a busy week, walking, reading maths, writing novel, doing yoga, playing the viola, playing the piano, going to London, going to several medical appointments, not eating sweets, buying routers, doing washing, cleaning carpets, setting alarm clocks, and nocturnal sessions at Macdonalds, I was ABSOLUTELY SHATTERED today!

I had an appointment with my GP at 10, so I set the alarm for 9.30 to wake me up. I wanted to tape something on the TV at 2.15 so I set the alarm for 2 to wake me up. Both alarms were needed.

My GP was her usual lovely self and supplied all the relevant paperwork, medication and so on. The little old ladies in the waiting room gave me their usual hard stares as I sat playing LineUp on my iPhone - I did turn the noise off though!

So, today's picture is of something else from this week. This is a "Stepping Plate". If, like us, you're hooked on grisly murder mysteries on the TV, you'll certainly have seen these at scenes of crime. SOCOs and Police use them to walk on to avoid disturbing blood patterns, footprints etc.

Anyway, every time we see these in use on such a programme, the Wonderspouse says "woah, aren't they COOL, I'd really like one"! So, because I am the sort of loving wife who totally appreciates such desires, I did a bit of online research, discovered they were called stepping plates, and found a forensic scene of crime supply company on the internet.

I ordered this one a few weeks ago and it came on Wednesday. I don't think I've EVER seen the Wonderspouse so excited. Jumping up and down, flinging his arms round me, saying how cool. When I explained it was a real one and he could sterilise it for blood etc he was even more chuffed!

Unfortunately my finances didn't stretch to getting more, otherwise we might have ended up with them all round the house (you can even get special narrow ones for stairs). This one has already become a prized possession though!

Oh, and I've learnt shedloads about forensic supplies!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.