Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Matching Netbooks

Last week I bought the Wonderspouse a netbook, as a present to say thank you for all the nights in the last year he's stayed up, looking after me, making me tea, listening to tales of woe, reassuring me, mopping up tears etc - AND all while working full-time, doing his own writing, and arranging gigs & writery things.

His desktop computer is now so ancient that he can send about 3 e-mails an hour, and viewing websites with pictures on is pretty much impossible. Furthermore, since I had the iPhone, I've been able to get on the internet from downstairs, and tweet while watching TV etc. He's done his best with borrowing the work laptop, but he can never guarantee to get it, and managing websites was getting increasingly difficult.

So, as promised, I bought him the cheapest netbook with my redundancy money from work. The problem was, I fell in love with it too. The iPhone is still one of the most wonderful things I own, but writing a novel on it was proving a challenge, and knowing that I'll be out and about a fair bit this month has meant that I've caved in, and bought myself a netbook too.

The Wonderspouse bought us a couple of sleeping bags for them to live in - pink for his and blue for mine! They're FABULOUS little gadgets, and now we can sit on our sofas, typing away!

Today, however, I'm exhausted. I was up early chewing bits of foam to provide a set of morning saliva samples for a research study on bipolar disorder that I'm participating in (had to be before tea, before getting out of bed, and after an alcohol-free evening), then fell fast asleep again until breakfast was ready.

The rest of the day will be spent on the sofa, with the TV and the magical little netbook, partly sleeping, and hopefully getting a few more words done on the NaNoWriMo novel!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.