Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Calm Moment

There aren't many calm moments with Smudge - a thyroid problem (which is almost impossible to treat with medication since she's allergic to it, totally impossible to treat with surgery (we've tried), and too expensive and gruelling to treat with radiation) means she's pretty hyperactive most of the time.

Just occasionally, though, she curls up for a little snooze, although the eyes open and look when there's even the merest hint of a sound, such as a camera being turned on!

Another quiet day. I managed small bits of food, although my stomach was once again in turmoil in the afternoon. Whatever this poisoning or bug is, it's a pretty hairy one. Some have suggested norovirus - although the Wonderspouse isn't (touch wood - a lot) afflicted, which might point to poisoning.

I wasn't strong enough to clean the rat cage. I did the best I could, but the full "take it all to pieces and disinfect" will have to wait for a couple of days. Laura is easier since her cage is much much smaller - I just cleaned her little sleeping house - I'll give her a good clean when I install her extension.

So, another day of telly on the sofa. I am getting stronger, and had hoped to go back to college for the start of the week - it became obvious that wasn't going to happen though, and despite my "I could give it a try" protestations, the Wonderspouse was clear that he wouldn't support such efforts and that he would contact my tutors himself if necessary. Hopefully I'll be up to at least doing a few useful things in my study though!

And yes, grammar police, "up to at least doing" is inelegant, but that's the way it goes!

The day finished with the last episode of Downton Abbey - where lots of them succumbed to the flu, one fatally. I was grateful that I live in the 21st century, with portable telephones, internet, decent medication and knowledge and so on. Being ill isn't much fun now, what it would have been like back then goodness only knows!

Mind you, I wouldn't have fared very well in an era where "class" mattered, where women had to wear dresses, and where the servants had to "know their place" and the nobility had to conform to some hideous social code. I'd have been reasonably good at sitting in the parlour playing the piano and doing embroidery, but, since I find the conventions of the early 21st century world quite challenging at times, I'd have gone stark staring nuts in the early 20th!

Well, in fact, since there was no venlafaxine or quetiapine or CBT, I'd probably have been written off as COMPLETELY nuts and lived my days out in an asylum!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.