Down in the cemetery

I went for a walk in the local cemetery, where the leaves were turning and the birds were flitting around the treetops. I spotted long-tailed tits, jays, blue tits, great tits and carrion crows. It was alarming to notice many of the headstones lying on the ground, which may be subsidence or perhaps people are deliberately pushing them over. I hope they will be in their upright positions again soon.

I wandered to the temporary library, then to the local deli, the dry cleaner, the pet shop and the baker, having a conversation in each of the places. The dry cleaner and the pet shop man had both been on safari (separately, I hasten to add, before interesting gossip begins), which made me long to see giraffes in their natural habitat. I almost asked them if they'd seen any rodents, but stopped myself because they don't know me that well and they might think me a bit weird for wanting to see porcupines rather than lions.

So, all in all, I've realised that I can't just pop out to the shops in my local neighbourhood. It's all quite sociable and takes more time than you'd think. Not that that's a complaint.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.