Rodents rule

By squirk

Sydenham Hill Wood

It was a local day today starting with a walk in Sydenham Hill Wood, kicking up leaves. We found an old railway tunnel, which is now a hibernaculum for bats. They, I imagine, were fast asleep.

Passing Dulwich Park, even though it was windy, we popped in to play table tennis. We decided it was good training to be able to play even a little in such gusty weather.

Back in our local High Street and the West Norwood Feast was in full flow. I'm glad that this monthly festival is still running and remains popular even though summer is over. I just about managed not to buy a sausage dog draught excluder, mainly because I don't have any draughty doors. I almost took a chainsaw to the front door in order to buy it! I did, however, buy mulled cider and a chickpea curry and was invited into the church to eat it. The church is a large, dominant building on the hill in West Norwood and it was full of kids learning how to dance and adults sitting around chatting, eating and drinking. The mulled cider was delicious!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.