The Fish Market Factory Direct

I started something yesterday didn't I?

Best large

I've not heard having fush 'n chups referred to as a fish supper. Sounds like something posh to my NZ ear.

I'm not sure how popular salt and vinegar is here. You do see bottles or individual packets of tomato sauce. Having tomato sauce (Watties, or in my case growing up, Mum's wonderful homemade tomato sauce) with anything is a NZ trait. I must admit on the rare occasion I have fish and chips, I like a bit of Watties tomato sauce on the side.

I knew about deep fried Mars Bars but not chip shot sauce and salt (someone needs to explain to me what that is). And the variation on a fish supper call a haggis supper (a portion of haggis battered and deep-fried along with chips), I'll politely pass.

This series has made me realise how many suburban fish and chip shops within cooee of me have disappeared because of the earthquakes. A couple in Beckenham, one at Opawa, another up the road at St Martins and the one that was at the bottom of Dyers Pass. Then of course was the shop along Manchester St and the wonderful (but pricey) gourmet one on Victoria St (where you could get fish fried or grilled, with great salads and chunky wedges of potato and kumara - NZ Maori sweet potato). Mum and Dad, you may remember we had the posh fish and chips a couple of times. Sadly all gone now and there will be many others.

The Fish Market is a 5min drive from me and yes a Greek family runs it. I had fish and chips once a couple of years ago. Disappointing but none of the family was on duty at the time.

Their fresh or smoked fish is great. Fronting onto the street you can see a sign Kumea's Delicatessen. She is the Matriarch of the family. I much prefer her fresh Greek food.

The mural is a winner though isn't it? Bright and a land mark that tells a story.

Check yesterday's blip for some really interesting history and background to the humble fush 'n chups.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.