Inside & Out

This was the view through the window of McCormack's pub (the White Horse Inn) on Burgh Quay this afternoon as the bright sunlight fought with the reflections of Butt Bridge and the Custom House. I was in town for a meeting, parked the car on the Quays, and spotted this as I walked past on the way back. I was in a bit of rush, since it was already close to 5.00 pm and I needed to be home for 6.00 to keep in touch with happenings during Steve Jobs's keynote at the Worldwide Developers Conference in San Francisco. I have to admit to some disappointment, largely because the whole thing more or less was devoted to iPhone apps and the new 3G iPhone, with a passing reference towards the end to the rottenly-named MobileMe replacement for .Mac. I already subscribe to .Mac, and it was at least good to learn that I'll be upgraded automatically when it comes on line.

As to the iPhone itself: now having 3G and being cheaper, I could possibly be tempted -- but I still wish I could get a no-frills something or other which would just allow me to send and receive calls and text messages. I really don't need music or a camera or web access or any of the rest. Anyway, it's time to get back to work. Even though I wasn't overly impressed with today's keynote, I still managed to spend far too long checking out the changes at the Apple website and the Apple Store.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.