Nairn Tattooist

Nice bright day after the morning haar. And a bit cold. Took myself off to Nairn and walked up the riverbank. You can see the remains of a wall Telford built to channel the river Nairn to exit to the sea at Nairn (that makes sense). It used to vary from year to year which made life difficult for the fisherfolk. His work has now been superseded. Went up into the town and took a few shots including a barber's. I've got a bit of thing about photographing barbershops and post offices. Although I suppose there'll always have to be people to cut hair the idea of a barber as I understood it in my youth seems to be on its way out. I don't expect those trendy Unisex places say anything along the lines of "Anything for the weekend, sir?". Post Offices are also part of a dying way of life when I always used to think of them as the government office in more or less every village. This tattooist's shop at the corner of Nairn's fishertown often catches my eye when passing through on the Aberdeen (A96) road so thought I would stick with this rather than the more photogenic beaches.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.