fotoflarewithclare

By tookie

Victory In Ohio For Workers!!!

I am a native born Ohioan living for over half my life now in Washington State. But my heart belongs to Ohio and tonight my home state made me proud. All across the country Republicans have tired to strip unions and public employees of their collective bargaining rights. Something I hold near and dear to my heart! I've been a public employee now for 35 years driving school bus. Ohio tonight said a resounding NO to issue 2 that would have stripped collective bargaining rights from public employees. This means from teachers, nurses, fire fighters, police and many more! Tonight Ohio voters said YES to their public employee's rights to collectively bargain! here

I've belonged to a union and been a shop steward and steward mentor for all my years as a school bus driver. I have been appalled at the heartless attempts to strip workers of having the right to bargain for their wages, benefits and working conditions. Many years my union and many others gave up any wage increase to get some better health benefits. To be stripped of the little say we have in improving our lives on and off the job is cruel at best. Demands have been made on public employees to take away hard earned benefits and to make workers shoulder more of the costs for them. Yet the corporate fat cats just keep getting fatter and the disparities between those at the top --the 1% and the rest of us--the 99% is ever increasing. The middle class is being wiped out and that is way Occupy Wall Street rose up. So tonight I savor this one small victory and toast to my home state of OHIO for putting real Democracy to work through the power of the people!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.