Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Flags Waving

"I don't like ass kissers, flag wavers or team players. I like people who buck the system. Individualists. I often warn people: "Somewhere along the way, someone is going to tell you, 'There is no "I" in team.' What you should tell them is, 'Maybe not. But there is an "I" in independence, individuality and integrity.'" Avoid teams at all cost. Keep your circle small. Never join a group that has a name. If they say, "We're the So-and-Sos," take a walk. And if, somehow, you must join, if it's unavoidable, such as a union or a trade association, go ahead and join. But don't participate; it will be your death. And if they tell you you're not a team player, congratulate them on being observant."

- George Carlin


Oh I do so <3 George Carlin. The flags here are (from right to left) the Australian flag, the Australian Aboriginal flag, and the Torres Strait Islander flag. They were blowing around quite markedly in the wind as I passed them this morning en route to work. I took a few shots of just the flags, but in the end preferred the way this shade sail/blind/jobby framed them.

I used layers in the Filterstorm Pro beta (or Release Candidate 1, I think; it must be close to done): I added a layer with a mask for just the sky (using the colour match tool) and pulled down the RGB curve quite a bit to bring out the blue of the sky, which was blown out and pale in the original image; I then added an S to the luminance curve in the base layer - which of course applied to everything except the sky. Oh, I also cropped it to 2:3.

Large version here.

Unprocessed version here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.