Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Advantageous to Beauty

"Accuracy is, in every case, advantageous to beauty, and just reasoning to delicate sentiment. In vain would we exalt the one by depreciating the other."

- David Hume

Grrrr - back-blipped this, as I just noticed this morning that there was no entry for 8/11 showing in my joural. The email from Blipfoto to confirm publishing it went into my junk folder. Grumble.


I took this just before I got to work this morning. The jacarandas are coming into bloom (not ours yet; we're a bit higher-up and cooler) and the ground is getting covered with gorgeous fallen blossoms.

I know this is rather (very) like a couple of my previous blips: one from the very same spot, and another from when I was out on a home visit, but this one should be a million times better, as it's with a good camera, instead of my iPhone - and that's what's important. :-p To be serious though, I did want to get a shot like this with better resolution than I got with the iPhone.

Mrs tsuken approved of it un-cropped or otherwise modified, so here 'tis.

And I approve of Hume's statement quoted above: knowing the facts about things adds to, rather than subtracts from, the beauty and wonder of them.

Large version here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.