Kebab seller

You can order a kebab or a burger but no fish and chips.

My office space is on the edge of campus and I don't often need to venture into the heart of campus. But today I had a job to do and walked past a couple running this kebab stall.

Post-quake we've lost some cafes and food sellers. This couple will have an arrangement with the university and student's association. During winter a number of stalls towed by cars appeared at the weekly market.

It's hard to beat a Costas kebab and Christchurch people will be glad to know he's soon to open in Sydenham. Another earthquake casualty about to rise from the ashes.

Now I've started my fish and chips series I've realised how many have been destroyed by the earthquake. Off the top of my head I counted 8 fish and chips shops I know of destroyed and gone within 5 or 6 kms of me.

As we so often do post-quake I've improvised today. Perhaps that's the key to this series, be prepared to widen the scope.

I'm glad it's a short week. I'm very tired this evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.