Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

The old order changeth ...

... yielding place to new.

This is Áras an Uachtaráin, the residence of the President of Ireland. Following the recent election, today is the last day of the fourteen years she's been there that Mary McAleese will spend in the Áras. She moves out this afternoon, and our ninth President, Michael D Higgins, will move in tomorrow following his inauguration in Dublin Castle.

It seemed only fitting to treat myself to a bit of a wander through the Phoenix Park and to stop at the point which offers the best view of this fine building. A shallow moat and a flimsy fence prevent any closer approach than where the group of figures and the dog are standing. Actually, when I walked up to that point myself, this was the closest I've ever been (I usually just grab a glance from the central avenue in the Park).

Michael D has hard acts to follow. Mary McAleese and her predecessor Mary Robinson reinvented the role of President and were wonderfully good at the job. I wish President Higgins well in his new job. He's a bit of a maverick, so perhaps there are some surprises in store.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.