Me, myself & I

By AlisonMM

The Feeding of the 5,000

I mentioned yesterday that today I would be at the Lord Mayor's Show. I remember coming to London to watch it as a child but today I saw it from a different perspective.

Each year one County from Girlguiding London & South East Region volunteers to do a float and one County volunteer to dish out the pack lunches to all the floats. Surrey West Guiders did the latter with assistance from Greater London Kent Guiders who were shadowing us to do it next year. It literally was the feeding of the 5,000!

Many floats just sent representatives along to collect their lunchs and these all had to be bagged up but all the marching bands and armed forces joined us at Kings College for their lunch.

So the highlight of my day was having a band of Irish Guards following in my wake to find their lunch. You just can't beat flirting with men in uniforms!!


My feet are killing me, I'm looking forward to a soak in the bath and a glass of wine!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.