The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Canadian Geese Skein - Newport Wetlands

Isn't it strange!

We go all the way for North Norfolk and Suffolk for skeins of geese and starling murmurations, and we end up seeing two impressive ones on our own back door.

We decided to get some fresh air this afternoon and drive down to Newport Wetlands, after it got a mention on Autumnwatch last night.

Last years murmurations were pretty impressive, but nothing like this year. They estimated about 15,000 starlings there at maxima last year. There is over double that there this year already. They estimate somewhere in the region of 40,000 birds.

I did manage a couple of shots of them, but nothing that showed them off impressively, I am definitely going back down next weekend, weather permitting, to see if I can get a better one. So I am holding back on that blip for now!

Instead you get this impressive skein of 68 (I make it) Canadian Geese that were en route to Goldcliff (I suspect). They were kicking up a helluva a racket as they flew over, and were as equally as impressive as the starlings!

It's great being back on my feet again, and doing what I love. Not 100% yet, but hopefully getting there. Back in work tomorrow. The final push begins!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.