Robin at large

By Robin

Golden Cross

Thankfully I seem to have got the camera back to the right date. I had a stroll around the village of Twyford and took a couple of photos, but this one is my selected Blip for today.

Twyford village has three pubs (as far as I know). When I lived here there were four, but one is currently a building site . The Golden Cross was my most local local. It was a typical village pub run by an elderly couple with lots of regulars, including the postman. It was pleasant to sit in the Beer garden on a nice day.

Over the last couple of years it changed management, maybe ownership, and it looked as though it has been hitting hard times. When I walked past this morning there was a skip in the car park, so I am not completely sure it is still open.

During the summer there was a meeting of the police, local authority, owners and licensee of the pub as well as some of the neighbours, of whom I would have been one in the past. There was a discussion about the future of the pub, and apparently there have been various incidents including fighting and vandalism. The outcome was to serve the owners and licensee with notice regarding future conduct at the pub.

It seems it is not the place I once new. There are still two others which as far as I know are still OK.

I also learnt today that Twyford means "two fords". It seems the two fords were used by merchants transporting wool to London. Well I never knew that when I lived here, though the origin of the ford part of the name was obvious.

Sent from my iPad

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.