13 points for water

8:30 am today and I was filling my water bottle.

And it feels like I didn't stop until I left for home to welcome visitors and enjoy time shared with friends.

It's days like this that challenge your source of peace, joy, grace and hope.

At times I probably wasn't much fun to sit near. The expectations and assumptions we make of each other don't often help.

I like reusing my bottle every day. Not only are there environmental and financial benefits, but it's a welcome reminder that I am as much a vessel as it is.

What do I carry around? What should be poured out? What am I full of?

Since Sunday, I've been thinking of these words:


Lord, make me an instrument of your peace.
Where there is hatred, let me sow love.
Where there is injury, pardon.
Where there is doubt, faith.
Where there is despair, hope.
Where there is darkness, light.
Where there is sadness, joy.

O Divine Master,
grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled, as to console;
to be understood, as to understand;
to be loved, as to love.
For it is in giving that we receive.
It is in pardoning that we are pardoned,
and it is in dying that we are born to Eternal Life.

Amen.

(St Francis', via Headphonaught)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.