PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

November Sunrise encore

I can hardly believe it, but here it is: my 365th consecutive blip. It began with a November sunrise and, although this was not my intention, my blip-year closes with a similarly windy sunrise. I took it at six o'clock this morning, from exactly the same viewpoint as a year ago, overlooking the sea.

When Bernard suggested that I'd enjoy blipping, I thought he was probably right, and so I posted my first photo. Little did I know just how addictive the daily journal would become! Nor did I realise how much delight I'd get from enjoying others' journals, as much as posting my own.

There were times when I didn't think I'd make the 365 without a break - especially when I had a spell in hospital earlier this year - but Mr PicturePoems posted my blips for me, until I was home again. So I made it!

Here's a 'kennings' poem describing what Blipland is to me:

Photo-sharer
Kick-starter
Friend-finder
Poem-sparker

Eye-opener
Mood-lifter
Thought-rouser
Blues-shifter

Mind-stretcher
Time-taker
Smile-raiser
Heart-breaker

Joy-giver
Fact-teacher
Ocean-crosser
Far reacher

So, a HUGE thank you to Blip Central for the site, and to subscribers and occasional visitors, to all commenters and givers of hearts, stars and favourites. I appreciate you all so much. In my 'trapped' situation (in year eight as prime carer for my ancient but much-loved mother) I literally don't get out much, and the companionship that this social site offers is a great support and light relief from the daily tedium.

I hope to carry on - maybe my next target should be 500 consecutive blips? - but, perhaps, I won't put a pistol to my head if I do miss the odd day; 365-consecutive-blips was my ambition, and I ought to be happy with that. Here's my proudest blip.

PS Perhaps I should add chessmen-chaser to that list of kennings. They would never have come to life without Blipland. They're currently practising their carol-singing for Christmas, so watch this space!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.