stories of stories

8:30am and I've paused on the cycle to work.

I've probably passed this carved tree 100 times and not once stopped to photograph it. Today was the day - and I realised the time was perfect to make it today's blip. The case was helped by me being unable to wake up at the intended time and sleeping for an extra hour. Otherwise this would have been a desk-related blip...

After taking the picture (not the best of the subject, I'm sure, but not too shabby), I cycled on to work and thought about the stories I could tell about the carving. I know nothing about it. A quick search on the ubiquitous engine didn't throw up much light either.

So, perhaps we need to make up a story.

Was it two coal miners grown greedy and turned into wood by the guardians of the deep?

Is it a memorial to the people who gave their lives to mine the coal that was brought into the city on the canal?

Could it be that the Millennium Project to restore the canal had some cash left over and let some local neds create an effigy of themselves and not let them burn it.

No matter.

It's there. It has often been cycled past and thoughts of taking a picture have flow by just as quick. But no longer.

Today at work was a day of progress too. Much progress.

Which I am very, very grateful for.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.