Poppy in the rubble

Today should have been a different day.

Today we should have gathered together to celebrate the wedding of Rhys and Esther. But Rhys was killed in the CTV building in February's earthquake. Instead we gathered together a couple of weeks later to farewell Rhys at his funeral.

In the dust and rubble in Sydenham poppies are appearing. Something beautiful amongst the now familiar yet confronting gaps in our urban landscape.

Small seeds of hope, enduring and tenacious.

Some attempts at things domestic. A few conversations with the hunter who was dealing with dead things and looking for people in need to pass fresh meat onto. I have my young cousin lined up who works with disadvantaged and marginalised people in the east of Christchurch.

While running this morning I met a man tending his garden. He invited me back this afternoon to collect seeded Peony roses and other goodies from their garden. They're roughly 10 mins run from me. Their home looks ok but it's cracked in half and likely to be 'deconstructed'. Their land is green/blue meaning the government says it can be fixed - at a cost, but it's up to their insurance company. Their home is now 5-10cm closer to the river than it used to be. At 80 and 85 years old they wonder if it will be sorted and fixed in their life time.

A good long Skype with Mum and Dad later this afternoon. I showed them where my new garden is up to. Already that is out of date. Since then I've planted Lobelias (midnight blue - trailing and upright), Peony Roses, deep burgandy Petunias, Nasturtiums and a few other bits and pieces.

I also lugged a large green/blue pottery pot into the new garden. In time I'll plant something in it, maybe a Tom Thumb Rhododendron. I'll wait until the other side of summer.

Tomorrow I'm picking up some cuttings of a climbing Hydrangea. I'll pot them for now and plant them late summer/autumn.

Other than that, I have a new project. I'm working out if it's possible to install a 200 L plastic tank to collect rain water from the down pipe. All things are possible it's just I have a small courtyard and limited options. I could set up a watering system from it and have an alternative water supply in another earthquake.I have an idea but it all depends on how strong my upstairs balcony is.

And what do you know it's late. Not surprising reading that list ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.