325 Barbados St

Best viewed large

I didn't go in today. I have before but despite the signs saying 'kiwiana', 'retro' etc, it doesn't quite do it for me.

That's merely taste and it's good to see people making a go of it and trying to make their business happen right on the edge of our crippled city.

Another big day. I went to St Lukes this morning, then home to coffee and a bit of serious garden thinking and planning. I got my wee scrawl of a plan out and updated it. I identified what I thought was missing.

Off out to collect some stakes for beans and tomatoes and a few odds and ends from Mitre10 (my local hardware store). I also trawled amongst their garden stuff and noted a few things. Then to my local garden centre and the lovely long suffering Margaret. She has a wealth of knowledge and always has time to answer my questions.

I took some photos on my phone to show her plus my updated plan/layout of the new garden. She kindly bought me in cuttings off her climbing Hydrangea. I've put these in pots for now. Hopefully something will strike roots and I can plant in the garden in late summer/autumn.

Home with a few goodies, then time spent weeding vege garden, preparing a large container for planting and getting in some celery plants before it rains. In the new garden I planted a Vibrunum davidis to give me another evergreen and added another Heuchera. I worked out the balance needed 3 not 2. And that just about takes care of the shadier end.

Somewhere in there the hunter appeared. He hoped he could convince me to got to a BBQ with him but this woman had gardening gloves on and the stereo up loud. He took one look and knew I was on a mission ;-)

I'm off to set myself up for the new week with an early night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.