just allan

By allan

Mr Brock Woods

Looking up through the canopy at Brock Wood, East Lothian.

Dotty and Betty-dog and I explored this lovely little wood after winter shopping (sledges, snow shovels, sacks of rock salt and a very big sack of bird food, thick duvets from Asda for £5 for a single, I mean you can't complain can you?) (where was I?) (ah yes) and before cycling on the tandem to Knowes Farm for a cauliflower and bramble and cardamom chocolate. Yum.

The build-up through the day to finally getting on the tandem and whizzing to the farm shop was fun. Sharing these local spots is an adventure as well. I've shown the old skating pond in the woods to a few folks, but I knew Dotty would be thrilled with it the way I was when I found it 7 years ago: I wonder what's down this overgrown forest track? .... Oh, wow.

The tandem ride to Knowes was punctuated with social encounters. Apart from the regular wave and smile from passing cyclists (always) we met Ewan-from-East-Linton and his son, and then at Knowes, the family of Paul and Ola turned up on their bikes.

What a happy, whizzy day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.