Capital adventures

By marchmont

Les filmes

The Samsung Galaxy Ace doesn't have a great camera ( and having it set on 400 ISO doesn't help). When I got it I didn't realise I'd want to blip by Android but on days like today I do. This is the best I can do today - pub for 'L'Illusionist', the brilliant animated French film set in Edinburgh, a real hit last year.

Last night's French film, 'Les Bien-Aimes' was good, a bit Bollywood, but marred by the overpowering heat in Filmhouse 1.

My phone was off last night and then again at church so I missed my sister's messages about the 'family outing' to A & E with dad last night. Having medics in the family is good but the news is not welcome. I had 5 men to love in my life - one has ' traded me in for a younger model' as I always joked he would (but I never thought it would be a girl 25+ years younger), two are far away. Does growing up mean you lose the people you love? If so, I don't want to grow up.

The rest of the day - up and down taking cardboard to the bin, spilt coffee on the new, cream, carpet (I've NEVER spilt coffee in the flat before but the carpet, being man made, I think it's ok), sold the dishwasher, sorted the landing 'garden' and Z and I cleared the loft. You know, previous owners had basins down to catch the leaks, BUT THEY NEVER DID ANYTHING ABOUT GETTING THE ROOF FIXED. Loads of rubbish up there, none of it mine.

So now The Filmhouse for food and a film. No kitchen means third night in a row. I'm gradually working my way through the menu, and enjoying the free wi-fi. The film 'You've Been Trumped'about the rape of the Menie Estate in Aberdeenshire by Donald Trump with the assistance of Alex Salmond, the Scottish Gov't and Aberdeenshire Council. See it if you can. Of course I know the area well, though it was a bit off seeing Peter Stephen sucking up to DT. But it was good to see my former colleagues, the Town Sergeants, there to protect the LP's chain. People laughed and protested and clapped the film. And it was so good to hear a broad Shire accent.

#1 son said he'd phone today. He didn't. I want to know what's happening. On the face of it I look happy, underneath. I hate change, I hate loss. I miss the people I love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.