shotlandka's weebig world

By shotlandka

My talented friends

This evening saw my church playing host to a charity craft fair in aid of The Lauren Currie Twilight Foundation, and it was a great success. Lauren's parents are in our church, and it is amazing to see how much they have been able to achieve with the foundation in such a short time. Today's event was very well attended (mobbed it probably a better term), and had some absolutely beautiful things for sale. I have officially now finished my Christmas shopping and it's not even December!

Extra special was to see the amazing things made by my friends Laura and Suz, both very talented as well as being lovely people (well, I mean, would I call them friends if they weren't??? Though I seem to remember making an interesting comment about some of my friends on Monday, but that was other friends! ;) To see the kinds of beautiful things they do, check out their websites - Laura makes cushions and other fabric accessories (see them here) and Suz paints on anything which will stand still long enough (see here). I also don't have photos, but my friend Esther's jewellery was incredible too, I have a necklace I bought last year which is much admired! They are inspiring me to do more with my photography and see if I could maybe sell some images, or get some cards made, need to get off my rear end though!

PS Some very good news at work, Bangladesh's obsolete and alientating 1898 Lepers Act was repealed today by the National Parliament of Bangladesh. For a brief outline about the act and why it needed repealed see here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.