Appreciation

By Appreciation

Picture Postcard

If I was an Uptown Girl yesterday then I was a Downtown Girl today.

We visited the Statue of Liberty and the Ellis Island Museum. Fascinating to find out all about the immigrants and how they were dealt with. I am off to find out if my grandmother's brothers were amongst them.

We took the Subway down and I enjoyed the chat. I don't use any regular commuting at home. That positive American vibe was everywhere. One conversation which struck me was a father and son. The father said 'I hope your life goal stretches beyond being the manager of a restaurant and hotel', I was thinking the kid was doing well, but clearly you can always hope to do better.

Then we visited the Ground Zero Museum. This is a very intimate experience. Only 28 are allowed on this 2 hour tour at any one time. It takes place in an apartment building and is a series of photographs and momentos which photographer Gary Marlon Susson was able to capture during the recovery of Ground Zero. Gary was there today too so we were lucky. It's well worth a visit.

We stayed on the in Meat Packing District for Margheritas and the finest guacamole I have tasted all in a flat iron building. A real hip and happening joint.

Japanese last night and Madhur Jaffrey's Indian tonight. We are making the most of foods which we don't normally get to eat at home.

Tomorrow our adventure comes to a close - Help, I need to shop!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.