Lightbox

I can actually start with this morning today rather than last night!

It's been a strange old day. The paediatric nurse came in early this morning to tell me the results of yesterday evening's blood tests, and said that yesterday Charley's jaundice levels were low which was great, but that they needed to keep an eye on the levels today. She did a heel-prick test, and came back very quickly to say that jaundice levels were up to just over the lower limit for requiring treatment. We're getting away with light therapy though as the levels are still quite low. Basically Charley is in his lightbox unless he's feeding - the feeding also helps combat the jaundice.

I called Steve as soon as I found out C would be needing light therapy, and Ben happened to be in bed as well making weird tractor noises and whooping sounds. I had my first phone conversation with him! I thought he said Hayley's christmas tree (which he helped decorate yesterday) was white with wings but I think he actually said lights and things. Possibly...!

It's meant that it's been a lonely morning though. Charley in his box (well, crib) when he's not feeding, and no visitors as I told Steve to go to church because everyone would want to say hello. (Ben stayed home to play with his grandparents.)

Turns out Sunday mornings are family visiting times and I felt really lonely then... but on the other hand, it was really lovely to see so much happiness in the room as families saw their new additions and older siblings were delighted :-)

But, silver linings and all that, I got to sit down and read my book! I haven't done that in two years!!

Then the fun started.

My internal wonderbra started inflating. I am absolutely gobsmacked at how much and how quickly my boobs inflated as I watched this afternoon. See Steve's blip for how pleased I look!!

We had a good blood result this afternoon though for the jaundice just before the family arrived at 3, and then I had some very much needed cuddles with my two boys (sorry mum and dad, must've been a bit boring visiting today), feeding the both of them together :) Ben said the milk was different, that there was more of it. He didn't want to let go of me!!

He didn't want to leave us here when it was time to go home either, but he understood that Charley was poorly and had to stay here, and that mummy had to stay to look after Charley. He wasn't so pleased that Daddy also had to stay but accepted it eventually and went home with grandma and grandad. He went straight to bed (at 4.30pm!) but didn't settle as he suddenly remembered he'd been promised a Special Sweet (yes we use bribery). Full of beans after that, funnily enough...

Meanwhile back here Charley needed yet another blood test because there was a worry that his blood might be too thick. All part and parcel of the same problem which has seen us battle low blood sugar and jaundice and now thick blood. That done, it was time to relax for a bit while we waited for visitors.

The boobs kept growing. I might copy and paste the comments from facebook at the end of here actually - we have been almost wetting ourselves at some of them, they are too good not to share!!!! Ok... You might have to wait til we're home for that, I'm too tired to figure out how to copy them across right now...

Hayley arrived with some tea for Steve (Sunday = shops and cafe shut! Nooooo!!). I headed to the loo, clocked myself in the mirror and had a very definite "Hello Boys" moment. I have actual cleavage again!!! Conversation round the bed while we waited for Charley to wake up for milk was a parental mix of boobs, poo, and willies - and lots and lots of much needed laughter! Julian popped in to say hello as well which was lovely :)

Visiting over, and with Charley back in his box after finally feeding, the night midwife came in to say hello again. Was good to have a chat about all sorts of things. Hormones. Milk. Feeding. Bonding. The lightbox. Ben and Steve. Charley. Boobs. She's a good 'un, that midwife. Wish I could remember all the names of the people who have looked after us. Gems, the lot of them.

Once she'd gone Steve and I had a laugh taking the Hello Boys type photo but he thought the one where I was still dressed was better so he blipped that one!

He went home and the paediatric nurse came to do Charley's heelprick test for the jaundice - and came back within minutes with the news that it was a good result and he didn't need to be on the lightbox overnight YIPPEEEE!! Tomorrow morning he has another heelprick due, to check for a rebound in the jaundice levels. IF it comes back fine, they think that's all the problems fixed and we might... might.... be able to go home.....

So to my absolute gratitude tonight Charley is in with me, just where my crazy hormones and giant knockers need him to be.

And they KEEP GROWING.

It's 4.30am now and we've just got back to bed after a toilet / nappy / feeding trip and I'm thinking I should've set the bed up slightly more upright - this HURTS!! And that's after feeding! Not sure the boobies are going to make it another couple hours, let alone until kiddo wants another feed....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.