Life Inspired

By inspiredesigns

Change

After putting my boys down to bed at about 8:00 p.m., I started to work on a lesson plan. This just wasn't any old lesson plan, this was a requirement to be completed before my interview that occurred today. This lesson plan was unique in that it required me to create it for "my Microeconomics course." Well I've never taught micro. I've taught all sorts of business courses, but I've never taught economics. So I had to create an entire 90-minute lesson plan based on a book I don't have and materials I've never seen. I am resourceful, however, and fortunate for the Internet's vast amount of information.

After about 3 hours of research and typing, I saved my document and closed it. I then went to my email program to send it to myself at work, and the document was nowhere to be found. I was horrified. It was gone. Was this an omen? Am I not supposed to do this? I cried. I freaked out. I cried. At some point, I did find it again in a deep temporary file. Relief.

After all that drama, I couldn't sleep until after 2:00 a.m.

I managed to get my lesson plan to Human Resources before my interview. I forgot to mention that I applied for a tenured business faculty position at the college where I work. I also forgot to mention that my interview was by phone. How strange is that? So here I am on a conference call to another room on the very same small campus. Strange.

Anyways, the interview went really well, and I was myself. I was confident and natural, and did my absolute best. And that is all I can do. If I'm not a fit, then so be it. I will have to find my place somewhere else. I just don't know where that "somewhere else" is. I mean I really don't know.

Okay, enough about that.

I wanted to remember this next one forever....

We were driving down the highway in search of our Christmas tree on Saturday and heard our 3 year old saying something. It was something like this: ffff-uuu-k, fffffffff-uuu-k, ff-u-k.... My husband and I looked at one another eyes open wide, turned our heads and giggled uncontrollably. I actually hid my face in my shirt. My son has never heard the "F" word in his life, so this was just him trying out new sounds. Completely hilarious however.

Oh, and this is me in front of the Christmas tree in our terrible living room light. Neato.

[P.S. I edited this a year later to take out things I probably shouldn't have said in a public journal and to fix my photo. 11/28/11]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.