Daily Encounters

By RonaldBerry

Blood Donation

Another out of the ordinary adventure at work today.

I found I had time in my schedule to partake in the Red Cross blood collection.

The collections coordinator asked if I'd like to donate two units of blood.

"Heck yes", I said. "In for a dime, in for a dollar."

The process involves a machine that processes the blood, separating the red cells from the plasma.

The advantage is that I get all of my plasma back and a bit of saline to match the volume donated in red cells.

With no blood volume lost, there are none of the physical sensations of volume depletion associated with donating 600-700ml of whole blood.

Now for the best part. The Red Cross now offers a small arm warmer gizmo for folks who don't like the feeling of the room temperature plasma and saline flowing back into their arm.

I didn't think the warmer was necessary for my arm. The phlebotomist suggested I put the warmer at my lower back while donating.

The warmer felt great. It was really awesome to lie quietly on this heating pad for nearly an hour in the middle of the day.

I told the phlebotomist I'd give a third unit of red cells for another half hour on the heating pad ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.