Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Seven Hundred

Well, today is my 700th blip! Not sure whether blipfoto considers this significant, but here we are anyway!

Blipping earlier than usual today. I'm trying to be efficient. In fact, even though it's only lunchtime, I've already finished my lesson planning for tomorrow, which is great, because I can devote the rest of the day to housework, admin, Welsh, and viola practice! Hurrah!

So, what is today's blip about?

Well, obviously, it's a 700, but, as is my way, I've made up the figures out of meaningful objects, and you will now be subjected to a short discourse on those objects and their respective significances!

Well, you will if you're still reading and haven't wandered off to make a cup of tea instead!

The "7" - Music

The 7 is made up of one of my MP3 players and my sopranino recorder. It represents music (obviously). Music is my rock, my constant, the subject that is always with me, whatever I do. I feel that I shall always be a musician, no matter how I earn my living. I cannot imagine what life would be like without playing music or hearing music. Whether I'm jumping around in a crowd at a Kasabian gig or playing Bach to the ratties in my study at home, I need music.

Music is my "wife"!

I have a BMus in Music.

The first "0" - Maths

The first 0 is a paper Moebius strip that I made out of a bit that I cut off some exercises I made during lesson planning this morning. Moebius strips are cool things that only have one side. I first knew about them in Junior school, when we got to make them in Maths. I'm thinking about such things a lot recently since I'm starting finals level Topology in February and have just enrolled for the course. I'm fascinated by maths and science, and even when I leave them for a bit, I always return, irresistibly attracted by their endless opportunities for exploration.

Maths and Science are my "lovers"!

I am part-way through a BSc in Maths.

The second "0" - Modern Languages

The second 0 is the first of my Welsh CDs from my recently started Welsh course. I've always been interested in languages, and seem to have accidentally become a linguist recently. I like old languages too, not just modern ones, but I love learning something I can actually talk to people! I also seem to have a little aptitude for language learning, and never feel intimidated by new languages, just rather excited!

Languages are my "holiday romances"!

I have just started a BA in Modern Languages.

*****

The interesting thing about all this is how little I've changed in the past 25 or so years. When I finished my O-levels I went into school and said that I'd like to do music, maths and French for A-level. The school objected, and there was a lot of "you've got good O-levels, you could go to Oxford" talk, so I ended up doing maths, physics, chemistry and further maths instead.

But, if my plans for the next few years proceed as I intend, I shall end up with three bachelors degrees: one in Music, one in Maths, and one in Modern Languages (Welsh, French and Spanish).

Pretty close to my original A-level choices I think!

Or maybe I'm just specializing in degrees beginning with "M"!!!

Happy December everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.