Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Advent Calendars

Well, the run up to Christmas has started!

Owing to the weather conditions, the Wonderspouse went into work slightly later than usual this morning, which meant he had time to make me porridge for breakfast, and also meant that I was ready to go out and do things when we left the house.

I went shopping in a nearby town, not for Christmas (it's far too early for me to think of such shopping), but for my best friend's birthday, which is coming up very soon. My mission was successful, and I also got a few odds and ends for myself (thermal underwear, a book or so, miscellaneous household stuff) and did a bit of supermarket shopping too.

When I got home I discovered that Smudge had again been poorly - she's not been very well recently, so, having spoken to the Wonderspouse, we booked her a vet appointment for the early evening. The vet seems to think she's having an adverse reaction to her thyroid pills, so she may have to try some others. More bloods have been taken, and a decision will be made once we have the results.

As for the advent calendars, we weren't going to bother this year. Last year we had a posh one with library books on which I bought when I bought an identical one for a friend. This year, however, we've gone for the fun ones with chocolates, like we've done in previous years. The Wonderspouse has "Hello Kitty", which he loves for its kitschness, and I have "Thomas the Tank Engine", which I love because it reminds me of my paternal Granny reading it to me when I was a little girl!

And we get to have a little choccie every day too! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.