A city based heron

This morning I went out for my run after the sun was fully risen, and thought I might get some photos of Ponsonby cafes and early morning customers. Despite the later time, it was still too early for breakfasters, except for a pair of cyclists at a cafe I have already blipped, so I left that.

Not a lot to enthuse me. Or perhaps a lack of enthusiasm on my part failed to see the potential.

This white faced heron was spotted by chance after I had left the path through Coxs Bay Park by the creek, thinking that a picture of the pool at what is now the start of Cox's Creek, would be something. The creek actually begins much further inland, but has been turned into underground culverts for almost its whole length.

After struggling to get the angle right to show the pool to best advantage, white faced heron walked across the almost empty creek, and into my view. Changed my position a couple of times and this one, taken over the top of an abandoned supermarket trolley (a large supermarket is right beside the creek here).

All that I have done is to crop it a little.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.