A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Advent light

The first one of these we had was brought by a friend from Germany, when it gave up working I briefly had a modernish metal one but now I have this traditional wooden one with Christmas tree shapes above a nativity scene. I believe they originated in Sweden and are put up at the beginning of Advent which is when I always put mine in the window.

I have done nothing today, not even gone to church. I have had a week of workmen under floors and turning every room upside down, one day without water and three without heat and on top of that a full blown cold which I probably haven't had for over a year. So with no workmen I had a lie in and a long bath, followed by a lazy afternoon, thankfully with heat!

The day has been foul and I have had no inspiration for a blip. At about 4.00pm I felt it was dark enough to switch on the candle arch and hey presto there it was. Lovely light reflected in the window.

More workmen tomorrow though - the electrician has to come for the timer etc and other jobs needing finishing off that I don't know about. So I am making the most of the bits of Christmas I can put in place - and enjoying them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.