A gap in the clouds

Another morning that was overcast and threatening rain. Indeed, i suspect that it had been raining gently not long before I woke and made ready to go out.

On this day a year ago, I did the same run; to the top of Maungawhau. In quite different weather and light. I entered low cloud as I went up to the top of Maungawhau, and much of the city was obscured or at least hazed by the cloud. Just before I started down again, the sun broke through and bathed a narrow swathe of the city west of Maungawhau in bright light.

Just as I had been unaware of this sight as I came up (walking) the same road this stalwart chappie is running up, I don't think he has any idea of the grand view he will see when (if) he turns and descends the same way.

The old volcano was host to many people of different ages, size and degree of fitness this morning. It is a wonderful place to be able to go in the mornings near the centre of the city.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.