Tour of Japan

By Ish

The sword museum. It's quite small but it was free.

So there I was looking at all the swords and not being able to read the Japanese descriptions when a gentleman (who seemed to appear from nowhere) decided to tell me about to evolution of the Japanese sword and how it's made. I honestly didn't know if this man worked there or was just very knowledgeable and passionate about swords. Either way, I appreciated the history lesson.

Did you know there are two types of samurai sword, one of which replaced the other? No? Well I won't go into it now. But look it up!

Anyway, taking photographs in the museum was strictly prohibited. I managed to get this quick snap on my way out when nobody was looking. There were some pretty impressive swords but unfortunately this is not one of them. It was the best I could do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.