Friday Foto

By drmackem

Waiting

My kids have moved beyond the incessant countdown to Christmas phase of their life. Way too busy with the things that absorb and fill their busy lives otherwise, it just doesn't feel the same.(bring on the grandchildren I say - no not yet, I'll wait a while for that)

This time of year in the Western Christian church is Advent which is a time of year where Christians expectantly wait the nativity and all of that. In the waiting is remembrance, the telling of stories, perhaps a connection to Mary's waiting, the wise men making a journey and always preparation and getting ready.

This morning I had a change of plan, I was supposed to be out in the dales leading a walking/personal development group with my friend Chris the psychotherapist, but we called off last night because of all the weather. Instead we decided the 2 of us would live it up and have breakfast together at Harvey Nicks in Leeds - we had great time catching up and imagining and playing with plans and a shared love of our lives.

So I was waiting for him at Leeds station and looking for a blipphoto. I love train stations, and airport arrivals, all that inactive waiting followed by the burst of emotion in the greeting. These folk look each different in their attitude in waiting it got me thinking about how we wait as much as what we wait for.

I "can't wait" for my away at uni daughter to come home - but will have to wait for another 10 days, I "can't wait" for those last few days leading up to Christmas and christmas day - I really love that time. I "can't wait" for that deep sense of joy I usually feel going to Church on Christmas morning. But wait I must so I'll just appreciate the waiting too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.