Friday Foto

By drmackem

I blame Mary Jane

Out for a run this afternoon on the moor - baht'at (without my hat on) for those south of Sheffield or West of Skipton or more generously from other countries.

The traditional song referring to the moor across the road from chez nous is depicted as a moral tale about wearing your hat on when you go on the moor or else you'll die and get eaten up by worms etc etc.

Wheear 'ast tha bin sin' ah saw thee, ah saw thee?
On Ilkla Mooar baht 'at
Wheear 'ast tha bin sin' ah saw thee, ah saw thee?
Wheear 'ast tha bin sin' ah saw thee?
On Ilkla Mooar baht 'at
On Ilkla Mooar baht 'at
On Ilkla Mooar baht 'at
Tha's been a cooartin' Mary Jane
Tha's bahn' to catch thy deeath o` cowd
Then us'll ha' to bury thee
Then t'worms'll come an` eyt thee up
Then t'ducks'll come an` eyt up t'worms
Then us'll go an` eyt up t'ducks
Then us'll all ha' etten thee
That's wheear we get us ooan back



I have a suspicion that it has nothing to do with wearing a hat or not though and has more to do with a warning against taking Mary Jane on to the moor.Today was cold, brrr cold, and I forgot to don gloves and hat.

Being a scientist I will bow to empiricism on this, so I've been up on the moor running about in the b****y cold without a hat on, but avoiding like the plague anyone that might be called Mary Jane whilst up there. If I get my death of cold - it's the lack of thermal insulation on my noggin, if I don't I blame the women. (sorry womankinda late night Christmas work do and one of thse mornings at work today are affecting me).

PS this is also my first "chez nous" blip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.