LocalBoy & His Fotographs

By stevenbirrell

Weekend

Just finished the new Ian Rankin novel, The Impossible Dead. I discovered his Inspector Rebus books as a first year at uni. As a wannabe student journalist I used this relatively new thing at the time called electronic mail to request an interivew with him, which we did, again via electronic mail. I wrote up my piece which was promptly spiked and never saw the light of the day. Turned out well in the end, my next interview piece ended up in The Scotsman when I did a work placement over Christmas hols. Worked out even better for Ian who has gone on to become an internationally renowned best selling author, an OBE for services to literature with pages and pages of interviews since.

I held off from reading the last Inspector Rebus book for a long time, as I didn't want the story to end. But must say that his new character, Malcolm Fox and the supporting cast are already firm favourites after only two novels.

Bit of an experimental blip with the book, remember seeing reference to the weekend earlier in the book and had a wee bit of a play around. Most creative I've been in a while, need to get the inspiration back. And a wee bit of time would be nice too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.