nothing between us

8:30pm, watching ER and eating a late-ish dinner with Mrs theWeir.

Reflecting on today. It has been a proper mixed bag.

Dropped the weeWeir off with MiL for pre-nursery fun and games. Down to the train station and into Edinburgh. Walk to work and into a taxi with a colleague. Down to Leith.

We did five mock interviews with some young people on an employment programme. A really nice bunch of young people, a diverse range of talents and experiences. Each one with potential. Each one hadn't made the grade at school for whatever reason. Each one would be an asset to a team and with strong leadership - and mentoring - could do really well. Here's hoping they keep going and pursuit their dreams.

Back up to work and a couple of hours of doing and replying. Inbox zero will have to wait. Again. But we are getting close.

Off down to Seafield (via Leith again, twice in one day. I need to shower... ;->) and to the funeral service of my Great Aunt who passed away last week. Yes, I left that joke in there. Was going to delete it, but I reckon it can stay.

I picked up the weeWeir later and headed home. We read stories and played. It was really special.

The funeral was really hard. I could empathise with my Aunt Carol a little. But in recent years I can't claim to have spent time with my Great Aunt Cis. Hearing about her early life - stories of shared experiences with my Grandparents that I'd never known - were heart-warming. But the picture on the back of the order of service (dimly captured on this blip) was the one that did it for me.

This is how I remember Cis and Charlie. This was the room that I visited with Mum as a boy - particularly during school holidays. This was the house that had a mixed smell of faded tobacco and polo mints.

We all face loss. We all face isolation. The words of "eternity" (and the misty-eyed memories of the late 1990s) were in my head as I left Seafield to come home for the weeWeir.

All I can ask for is grace - and peace in face of the struggle to find it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.