Look, See, Click

By lookseeclick

Felt flower

The musician had just settled in to his lunchtime busking spot and was starting to play. I've heard him playing his guitar several times. Don't know why but I felt so embarrassed when all I found in my purse was 50p. It seemed insulting but I chucked it into his guitar case anyway - and it was then that I saw this lovely felt flower tucked into his case which made me laugh this cold wintry lunchtime.

Regular readers of my journal may have noticed that my moods recently have been up and down like a fiddler's elbow (or, if you prefer, like a bishop's cassock). I really thought I'd done with all that emotional turmoil but earlier this evening I rediscovered a book that I read upside down, inside out, cover to cover a few years ago entitled 'The Wise Woman Way: alternative approaches for women 30-90' and had totally forgotten about it. It's been sat here, on the shelf just above my computer, probably sniggering to itself as it knew that one day I'd pick it up again. Here's the nugget of wisdom from Grandmother Growth that struck a chord with me:

'Come, dear one, and join the dance of feeling, life, and death. Do a crazy Crone step, whirling around the emotional roller coaster; it's part of the journey to 'crazy old lady', she who can act totally outside the social norms, who can recognize and use the awesome power of her emotions'

I guess that's what my mum and gran meant when they said 'better out than in, lass, better out than in.' ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.