Moreton Bay Dolphin

This was the highlight of my day. Not the best photo I have ever taken either. Dolphins playing in a backwater of the Brisbane river.

Due to a lack of available companions, I went out fishing on my own this morning. I put my boat in at the Port of Brisbane which I haven't done before. The river is amazing, and a lot bigger than I thought. The shipping channel is 16 metres deep according to my sounder. I took a long cruise right out to the mouth and learned a few things along the way.

1. Ships put out a bigger wake when they pass than I originally thought. I had a bit of a rollercoaster ride on that one!

2. My anchor rope is too short. I tried to anchor up next to the shipping wharf in 15 metres of water and was a bit surprised when my anchor was left dangling.

3. Deeper water doesn't mean more fish, or any for that matter...or even a bite!

Still, I enjoyed my solo cruise around the river mouth. When I came back to the boat ramp I decided to explore a bit up another shallow channel. That was where I saw a small pod of dolphins so I stopped and watched them for a while. One even poked its head out of the water and looked at me. Sadly I didn't have my zoom lens on. This photo was good enough for the memory though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.