Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Blowing a raspberry

I had one of "those" days where I just couldn't decide what to blip. The morning started with a visit from His Royal Redness (Northern Cardinal) followed by an unprecedented visit by a pack of thirsty Starlings followed by the usual assortment of winged creatures. Took a few odd shots of the juncos, titmice and chickadees, but nothing was ringing the bell for me. So, I tackled some paperwork, and waited for an inspiration.

And, when I looked out the window, there was this single house finch with a color mutation! Yippee! The male house finches are heavily hued in red about their head and breast and the base of their tales. In our part of the country, about 5% of the finch population carries a color mutation that causes the head and neck to be orange or yellow. This is only the second color mutation I've seen so he really caught my attention. I fired off a bunch of shots through the window (yes, after belly crawling closer, camera clutched in my sweaty palm), hoping for something good. This was certainly not the best shot technically, but I loved the way his pink tongue was on full display. It was so quick that I didn't even see it when he did it, so viewing the images and finding this was a total surprise. Hope you enjoy him.

I have decided not to send Christmas cards this year. Having made the decision, I feel quite relieved, and a touch guilty. Apparently, my husband's Italian-ness has rubbed off on me in terms of the guilt. Hmph.

Thanks for all the comments on my crazy blue jay yesterday. They are totally entertaining birds!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.