Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

One Flew Over the Cuckoo Canes...

I had a hard time deciding on today's blip. The little birds were all being cute today and zooming around me when I went on the deck - woodpeckers, titmice, nuthatches, and of course the chickadees. You may recall that this summer the resident pair of chickadees nested in one of my boxes and raised a brood of 5 chicks. I think that at least 4 have survived and they are all still together in a winter foraging group. They are not afraid of me and will fly right up when I am filling the feeders. And they are incredibly nice little birds - I always view them as being cheerful and optimistic.

And I haven't blipped one in a long time - frankly, I find them a bit hard to photograph because of the contrasting colors on their head. It's hard to get the exposure right so that you can see the eyes. And in the case of today's shot, the entire bird is a bit out of focus since it was on the move. But, I asked hubs which one I should blip and he picked this one (it was on my short list of contenders, so I'm happy with his choice.)

If you'd like to see the six best shots of the day (including this one), they are on Flickr, starting HERE.

So, how about some help coming up with a funny caption for this! I couldn't think of a thing so hoping that maybe you can help...

xxoo
Debbi

PS: Many of you asked what the heck "hump day" is. And you can't fool me - some of you thought it was something naughty! Actually, it is a common American-ism used for Wednesday. Once you've hit Wednesday of the work-week, you're over the "hump" and the weekend is drawing close.

Footnote: So many great title suggestions! I went with this one because two people suggested a variation of it - so thank you Roys Blips and Graham Colling If you want some chuckles, though, read through the comments and see some of the other great title suggestions!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.