The lazy wind...

Some days there are no blips - on others potential blips throw themselves at you. Today I've struggled to decide what to post!

I had intended to go into Peterborough early to get on with the Christmas shopping, which, as usual for me, is far from complete. But when I awoke I could see wonderful colours in the sky and a hard frost on the ground, and suddenly the thought of a walk along the river seemed much more appealing. Unfortunately I missed the very best of the dawn, because it took so long to scrape the ice off the windscreen and de-mist the windows. But there was still plenty of warm colour in the clouds, and the thin layer of ice on the backwater shone like burnished copper.

The dogs and I returned for breakfast, and I tried to do some internet shopping, but failed at that too. I then retreated to the kitchen to make some cinnamon ice-cream, to be eaten with pears poached in red wine on Boxing Day. I was beginning to feel a bit under the weather, with general aching all over and a slightly sore throat, but as I'd suggested to Chris that we might go out to the Nene Washes to do some bird-watching, I took a couple of ibuprofen and pulled myself together.

I was so glad that I did, because our trip was worthwhile. Initially it all seemed rather quiet, with the exception of a large flock of fieldfares and redwings and a charm of goldfinches. But as we walked along the bank we caught sight of some large birds, which proved to be three marsh harriers, possibly young birds, who were hunting over the shallowly-flooded grassland.

We then spent a good few minutes watching a distant barn owl hunting over a rough grass field, wafting here and there like a silent ghost, and then hovering until it plunged down to catch its prey, probably an unfortunate field vole. The sun was getting lower and we decided to turn back, only to be greeted by the sight of another barn owl hunting over the washes.

I'd put the dogs back in the car, when a birdwatcher told us that a group of eight cranes had been sighted a little way in the other direction. We couldn't resist going to look for them, so the surprised dogs were taken out of the car again, and we strode along towards the supposed spot. Unfortunately the cranes had disappeared by the time we arrived, but we saw a flock of whooper swans feeding on the arable fields, and several small groups flew over us to roost on the washes, one of the most evocative of winter sights and sounds.

The wind had picked up while we were walking east, and we both got thoroughly chilled on the way back by a brisk north-westerly. They always say the fen wind is a lazy wind, because it cuts right through you rather than going around the outside, and today that was so true. Chris commented that even when he's been walking in the Peak District, the wind never seems to be as cold as it is on the fens. But although our eyes were watering we were treated to the most amazing sunset, truly magnificent.

Best viewed large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.