Reflective...

Another early morning depositing Alex at the station, followed by a couple of hours of Christmas shopping - nearly all the presents are bought now, I think... I took my camera into town, and took a couple of shots of the Berber market which seems to have become a regular feature of Christmas in Peterborough.

I've been watching the 'one street' project elsewhere on blip, and thought I would like to join in, but couldn't decide where I should photograph. I live in a very quiet and ordinary cul-de-sac. I considered selecting nearby Thorpe Road, which has many interesting historic buildings, but is rather lacking in street life. Then I thought the Lincoln Road would be fun to do, as it has diverse immigrant communities and is full of life and colour, but it's on the other side of town and is an area that I don't visit in the course of my daily life. In the end I've decided I might be best concentrating on the streets around Cathedral Square, as this is the part of the city that I visit most regularly and has a good mix of interesting people and buildings.

After lunch I took Rosie down to the river and found much of my normal route was flooded again. Rosie and I walked on the raised fields behind the Boardwalks and managed to get to the river at the town end, which is where I took this dusk shot of poplars reflected in the river. I was surprised to see a flock of about two hundred greenfinches flying around, probably migrants from northern England or perhaps even Scandinavia.

Collecting Alex from the station proved to be a nightmare. There were problems with the overhead lines at Hitchin, which meant that many trains had been cancelled and others were running up to three hours late. The train he came home on should have left Huntingdon about half past four, and took well over half an hour to do the fifteen minute journey. The car-park was heaving, being swelled with parents picking up returning students and everyone seemed very fraught. Aah - the joys of pre-Christmas travel!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.